About the Award
Past Recipients
Award Committee
Contact Us


2017 Lute Olson Award

April 4, 2017


PHOENIX, AZ -- Purdue’s Caleb Swanigan is the recipient of the 2017 Lute OIson award.

Swanigan helped lead the Boilermakers to a 27-8 overall record, a Big Ten regular-season championship and a trip to the Sweet 16.

He averaged 18.5 points, 12.5 rebounds and 3.1 assists per game while shooting 52.7 percent from the field, 44.7 percent from 3-point range and 78.1 percent from the free throw line. 

His 28 double-doubles were the most in Big Ten history. He set Purdue's single-season rebounds record by almost 100 rebounds (436; Joe Barry Carroll is second with 352) and recorded 10 more double-doubles than any player in Purdue history.  

“Caleb Swanigan had one of the best seasons any Big Ten player has ever had,” said CollegeInsider.com’s Angela Lento. “He can, he can rebound and he can pass the basketball.”

Swanigan is the only player in the last 31 years with at least 640 points, 430 rebounds and 100 assists. He joins former Wake Forest All-American Tim Duncan as the only players in the last 25 years to average at least 18.5 points, 12.5 rebounds and 3.0 assists in a season.

The Lute Olson Award is presented annually to the nation's top Division I player who has played at least two seasons. 

Lute Olson won 780 games in 34 seasons, 24 of which were spent at the University of Arizona. During that stretch he led the Wildcats to 11 Pac-10 Conference titles, 23 consecutive NCAA Tournaments, four Final Four appearances and a National Championship in 1997.


Dwayne Bacon Florida State
Lonzo Ball UCLA
Dillon Brooks Oregon
T.J. Cline Richmond
John Collins Wake Forest
Bonzie Colson Notre Dame
Marcus Foster Creighton
Ethan Happ Wisconsin
Josh Hart Villanova
Josh Jackson Kansas
Justin Jackson North Carolina
Luke Kennard Duke
Frank Mason III Kansas
Donovan Mitchell Louisville
Malik Monk Kentucky
Monté Morris Iowa State
Johnathan Motley Baylor
Semi Ojeleye SMU
Alec Peters Valparaiso
Justin Robinson Monmouth
Dennis Smith NC State
Caleb Swanigan Purdue
Sindarius Thornwell South Carolina
Melo Trimble Maryland
Nigel Williams-Goss Gonzaga


Contact Us
Gene Bartow Award
Jack Bennett Award
Lefty Driesell Award
Hugh Durham Award
Clarence Gaines Award
Joe B. Hall Award
Lou Henson Award
Ben Jobe Award
Kyle Macy Award
John McLendon Award
Don Meyer Award
Lute Olson Award
Jim Phelan Award
Skip Prosser Award
Glenn Robinson Award
Riley Wallace Award
Kay Yow Award
More Honors
All-Conference Honors
All-Decade Team
Mid-Major All Decade
Copyright © 2015 CollegeInsider.com.
All rights reserved.