About the Award
Past Recipients
Award Committee
Contact Us


2014 Lute Olson Award

April 4, 2014


DALLAS, TX -- Creighton's Doug McDermott is the recipient of the 2014 Lute Olson National Player of the Year award and the first to win the award twice.

McDermott leads the nation in scoring (26.7 ppg.) and points (934) while also ranking second in field goals made (330) and ninth in three-point percentage (.449) through games of April 2nd. He scored a career-high 45 points on Senior Night on March 8th to become the eighth man in NCAA history to surpass 3,000 carer points, eventually finishing fifth all-time in scoring with 3,150 career points. 

Creighton finished the 2013-14 season with a 27-8 record while reaching the third round of the NCAA Tournament for a third straight season. 

McDermott also won the award as a sophomore in 2012.

The Lute Olson Award is presented annually to the nation's top Division I player who has played at least two seasons with his respective team. Freshmen and first-year transfers can be named to the All-America team, but are not eligible to receive the Player of the Year honors.

The award is named in honor of coaching great Lute Olson, who won 780 games in 34 seasons, 24 of which were spent at the University of Arizona. During that stretch he led the Wildcats to 11 Pac-10 Conference titles, 23 consecutive NCAA Tournaments, four Final Four appearances and a National Championship in 1997.


Kyle Anderson 6-9 So. UCLA
Ron Baker 6-3 So. Wichita State
Billy Baron 6-2 Sr. Canisius
Bryce Cotton 6-1 Sr. Providence
Cleanthony Early 6-8 Sr. Wichita State
Melvin Ejim 6-6 Sr. Iowa State
Tyler Ennis 6-2 Fr. Syracuse
C.J. Fair 6-8 Sr. Syracuse
Aaron Gordon 6-9 Fr. Arizona
Gary Harris 6-4 So. Michigan State
Joe Harris 6-6 Sr. Virginia
Nick Johnson 6-3 Jr. Arizona
DeAndre Kane 6-4 Sr. Iowa State
Sean Kilpatrick 6-4 Sr. Cincinnati
Doug McDermott 6-8 Sr. Creighton
Shabazz Napier 6-1 Sr. Connecticut
Jabari Parker 6-8 Fr. Duke
Adreian Payne 6-10 Sr. Michigan State
Julius Randle 6-9 Fr. Kentucky
Russ Smith 6-0 Sr. Louisville
Nik Stauskas 6-6 So. Michigan
Xavier Thames 6-3 Sr. San Diego State
T.J. Warren 6-8 So. North Carolina State
Scottie Wilbekin 6-2 Sr. Florida
Andrew Wiggins 6-8 Fr. Kansas


Contact Us
Gene Bartow Award
Jack Bennett Award
Lefty Driesell Award
Hugh Durham Award
Clarence Gaines Award
Joe B. Hall Award
Lou Henson Award
Ben Jobe Award
Kyle Macy Award
John McLendon Award
Don Meyer Award
Lute Olson Award
Jim Phelan Award
Skip Prosser Award
Glenn Robinson Award
Riley Wallace Award
Kay Yow Award
More Honors
All-Conference Honors
All-Decade Team
Mid-Major All Decade
Copyright © 2015 CollegeInsider.com.
All rights reserved.