About the Award
Past Recipients
Award Committee
Contact Us

Trophy Awards

Close the Gap


[return to collegeinsider.com]

Feb.. 20, 2017

BOSTON (MA) -- Monmouth's Justin Robinson earns Lute Olson award national player of the week honors.

The 5-foot-8 senior helped the Hawks to a pair of wins, as they became the first team to officially clinch a postseason berth by winning the MAAC regular season championship. Last Monday Robinson had a career-high 40 points at Siena. He made eight three-point field goals, which was also a career-best. On Thursday he had three-pointers and finished with 27 points against Niagara.

The Lute Olson Award is presented annually to the nation's top Division I player who has played at least two seasons with his respective team. Freshmen and first-year transfers can be named to the All-America team, but are not eligible to receive the Player of the Year honors.

The award is named in honor of coaching great Lute Olson, who won 780 games in 34 seasons, 24 of which were spent at the University of Arizona. During that stretch he led the Wildcats to 11 Pac-10 Conference titles, 23 consecutive NCAA Tournaments, four Final Four appearances and a National Championship in 1997.


Week 15 (Feb. 20) Justin Robinson (Monmouth)
Week 14 (Feb. 13) Bonzie Colson (Notre Dame)
Week 13 (Feb. 6) Caleb Swanigan (Purdue)
Week 12 (Jan. 30) Donovan Mitchell (Louisville)
Week 11 (Jan. 23) Lauri Markkanen (Arizona)
Week 10 (Jan. 16) Frank Mason III (Kansas)
Week 9 (Jan. 9) Sindarius Thornwell (South Carolina)
Week 8 (Jan. 2) Dwayne Bacon (Florida State)
Week 7 (Dec. 26) Caleb Swanigan (Purdue)
Week 6 (Dec. 19) Kelan Martin (Butler)
Week 5 (Dec. 12) Josh Hart (Villanova)
Week 4 (Dec. 5) Isaac Hamilton (UCLA)
Week 3 (Nov. 28) Johnathan Motley (Baylor)
Week 2 (Nov. 21) Josh Hart (Villanova)
Week 1 (Nov. 14) James Blackmon, Jr. (Indiana)

Contact Us
Gene Bartow Award
Jack Bennett Award
Lefty Driesell Award
Hugh Durham Award
Clarence Gaines Award
Joe B. Hall Award
Lou Henson Award
Ben Jobe Award
Kyle Macy Award
John McLendon Award
Don Meyer Award
Lute Olson Award
Jim Phelan Award
Skip Prosser Award
Glenn Robinson Award
Riley Wallace Award
Kay Yow Award
All-Conference Honors
All-Decade Team
Mid-Major All-Decade Team
Copyright © 2017 CollegeInsider.com.
All rights reserved.