About the Award
Past Recipients
Award Committee
Contact Us

Trophy Awards

Close the Gap


[return to collegeinsider.com]

March 4, 2019

BOSTON (MA) -- Campbell's Chris Clemons earns the Lute Olson award national player of the week honors.

The 5-foot-9 senior helped the Fighting Camels win the Big South regular-season championship. On Wednesday he had 32 points, five rebounds, four assists and four steals against USC Upstate. On Saturday he finished with 30 points against defending Big South champion Radford.

The Lute Olson Award is presented annually to the nation's top Division I player who has played at least two seasons with his respective team. Freshmen and first-year transfers can be named to the All-America team, but are not eligible to receive the Player of the Year honors.

The award is named in honor of coaching great Lute Olson, who won 780 games in 34 seasons, 24 of which were spent at the University of Arizona. During that stretch he led the Wildcats to 11 Pac-10 Conference titles, 23 consecutive NCAA Tournaments, four Final Four appearances and a National Championship in 1997.

2018-19 Lute Olson National Player of the Week

(March 4): Chris Clemons, Campbell
(Feb. 25): Jeremiah Martin, Memphis
(Feb. 18): Ja Morant, Murray State
(Feb. 11): Justin Wright-Foreman, Hofstra
(Feb. 4):  Chris Clemons, Campbell
(Jan. 28): Mike Daum, South Dakota State
(Jan. 21): Tyus Battle, Syracuse
(Jan. 14): Markus Howard, Marquette
(Jan. 7):   Shamorie Ponds, St. John's
(Dec. 31): Jayden Gardner, East Carolina
(Dec. 24): Markus Howard, Marquette
(Dec. 17): Shizz Alston Jr., Temple
(Dec.10):  Myles Powell, Seton Hall
(Dec. 3):   Mike Daum, South Dakota State
(Nov. 26):  Shamorie Ponds, St. John's
(Nov. 19):  Carsen Edwards, Purdue
(Nov. 12):  CJ Massinburg, Buffalo

Contact Us
Gene Bartow Award
Jack Bennett Award
Lefty Driesell Award
Hugh Durham Award
Clarence Gaines Award
Joe B. Hall Award
Lou Henson Award
Ben Jobe Award
Kyle Macy Award
John McLendon Award
Don Meyer Award
Lute Olson Award
Jim Phelan Award
Skip Prosser Award
Glenn Robinson Award
Riley Wallace Award
Kay Yow Award
All-Conference Honors
All-Decade Team
Mid-Major All-Decade Team
Copyright © 2019 CollegeInsider.com.
All rights reserved.