About the Award
Past Recipients
Award Committee
Contact Us

Trophy Awards

Close the Gap


[return to collegeinsider.com]

March 3, 2014

BOSTON (MA) -- Xavier's' Semaj Christon earns Lute Olson award national player of the week honors.

The 6-foot-3 sophomore helped New Mexico to a pair of wins last week, which included a win over No. Creighton. Christon opened the week with 15 points, 7 rebounds and 6 assists against St. John's. He followed that effort with 21 points and 4 steals in the upset win over Creighton.

The Lute Olson Award is presented annually to the nation's top Division I player who has played at least two seasons with his respective team. Freshmen and first-year transfers can be named to the All-America team, but are not eligible to receive the Player of the Year honors.

The award is named in honor of coaching great Lute Olson, who won 780 games in 34 seasons, 24 of which were spent at the University of Arizona. During that stretch he led the Wildcats to 11 Pac-10 Conference titles, 23 consecutive NCAA Tournaments, four Final Four appearances and a National Championship in 1997.


Week 17 (March 3) Semaj Christon (Xavier)
Week 16 (Feb. 24) Cameron Bairstow (New Mexico)
Week 15 (Feb. 17) Billy Baron (Canisius)
Week 14 (Feb. 10) Melvin Ejim (Iowa State)
Week 13 (Feb. 3) Justin Cobbs (California)
Week 12 (Jan. 27) Billy Baron (Canisius)
Week 11 (Jan. 20) Nik Stauskas (Michigan)
Week 10 (Jan. 13) Justin Cobbs (California)
Week 9 (Jan. 6) Doug McDermott (Creighton)
Week 8 (Dec. 30) DeAndre Kane (Iowa State)
Week 7 (Dec. 23) Aaric Murray (Texas Southern)
Week 6 (Dec. 16): Branden Frazier (Fordham)
Week 5 (Dec. 9) Chaz Williams (UMass)
Week 4 (Dec. 2) C.J. Fair (Syracuse)
Week 3 (Nov. 25) Marcus Smart (Oklahoma State)
Week 2 (Nov. 18) Adreian Payne (Michigan State)
Week 1 (Nov. 11) Shavon Shields (Nebraska)

Contact Us
Gene Bartow Award
Jack Bennett Award
Lefty Driesell Award
Hugh Durham Award
Clarence Gaines Award
Joe B. Hall Award
Lou Henson Award
Ben Jobe Award
Kyle Macy Award
John McLendon Award
Don Meyer Award
Lute Olson Award
Jim Phelan Award
Skip Prosser Award
Glenn Robinson Award
Riley Wallace All-America Team
Kay Yow Award
Mid-Major Freshmen All-America Team
Mid-Major Defensive All-America Team
Mid-Major Defensive Player of the Year
Mid-Major Freshman of the Year
National Most Valuable Player
Mid-Major Most Valuable Player
All-Conference Honors
Copyright © 2011 CollegeInsider.com.
All rights reserved.

Buy Final Four tickets and BCS Championship tickets at ABC ticket broker as well as Penn State football tickets and Philadelphia Eagles tickets.





Need to go to the football game? You can find college football tickets at TicketStub.com. Experience the game at your favorite stadium.