About the Award
Past Recipients
Award Committee
Contact Us

Trophy Awards

Close the Gap


[return to collegeinsider.com]

Feb.  23, 2015

BOSTON (MA) -- West Virginia's' Juwan Staten earns Lute Olson award national player of the week honors.

The 6-foot-1 senior helped the Mountaineers to a pair of wins last week. Staten opened the week with a game-high 20 points, including the game-winning layup with four seconds remaining, in the upset win over No. 8 Kansas. On Saturday he had a game-high 22 points on the road at No. 22 Oklahoma State. Staten also had seven assists.

The Lute Olson Award is presented annually to the nation's top Division I player who has played at least two seasons with his respective team. Freshmen and first-year transfers can be named to the All-America team, but are not eligible to receive the Player of the Year honors.

The award is named in honor of coaching great Lute Olson, who won 780 games in 34 seasons, 24 of which were spent at the University of Arizona. During that stretch he led the Wildcats to 11 Pac-10 Conference titles, 23 consecutive NCAA Tournaments, four Final Four appearances and a National Championship in 1997.


Week 15 (Feb. 23) Juwan Staten (West Virginia)
Week 14 (Feb. 16) Perry Ellis (Kansas)
Week 13 (Feb. 9) Joseph Young (Oregon)
Week 12 (Feb. 2) Askia Booker (Colorado)
Week 11 (Jan. 26) Jerian Grant (Notre Dame)
Week 10 (Jan. 19) Chasson Randle (Stanford)
Week 9 (Jan. 12) Marcus Foster (Kansas State)
Week 8 (Jan. 5) Jahlil Okafor (Duke)
Week 7 (Dec. 29) D'Vauntes Smith-Rivera (Georgetown)
Week 6 (Dec. 22) Jordan Price (La Salle)
Week 5 (Dec. 15)  Zach Auguste (Notre Dame) & Josh Richardson (Tennessee)
Week 4 (Dec. 8) Tyrone Wallace (California)
Week 3 (Dec. 1) Aaron Bacote (Old Dominion)
Week 2 (Nov. 24) Angel Rodriguez (Miami)
Week 1 (Nov. 17) Georges Niang (Iowa State)

Contact Us
Gene Bartow Award
Jack Bennett Award
Lefty Driesell Award
Hugh Durham Award
Clarence Gaines Award
Joe B. Hall Award
Lou Henson Award
Ben Jobe Award
Kyle Macy Award
John McLendon Award
Don Meyer Award
Lute Olson Award
Jim Phelan Award
Skip Prosser Award
Glenn Robinson Award
Riley Wallace Award
Kay Yow Award
Mid-Major Freshmen All-America Team
Mid-Major Defensive All-America Team
Mid-Major Defensive Player of the Year
Mid-Major Freshman of the Year
National Most Valuable Player
Mid-Major Most Valuable Player
All-Conference Honors
Copyright © 2014 CollegeInsider.com.
All rights reserved.