About the Award
Past Recipients
Award Committee
Contact Us

Trophy Awards

Close the Gap


[return to collegeinsider.com]

Nov.  23, 2015

BOSTON (MA) -- Northern Iowa's Wes Washpun earns Lute Olson award national player of the week honors.

The 6-foot-1 senior helped the Panthers to an upset win over No. 1 ranked North Carolina. Washpun finished with 21 points, eight assists and two steals in the 71-67 win. Earlier in the week he had 14 points, five rebounds and three assists in a win over Stephen F. Austin, which was ranked No. 7 in the Mid-Major Top 25.

The Lute Olson Award is presented annually to the nation's top Division I player who has played at least two seasons with his respective team. Freshmen and first-year transfers can be named to the All-America team, but are not eligible to receive the Player of the Year honors.

The award is named in honor of coaching great Lute Olson, who won 780 games in 34 seasons, 24 of which were spent at the University of Arizona. During that stretch he led the Wildcats to 11 Pac-10 Conference titles, 23 consecutive NCAA Tournaments, four Final Four appearances and a National Championship in 1997.


Week 2 (Nov. 23) Wes Washpun (Northern Iowa)
Week 1 (Nov. 16) Joey King (Minnesota)

Contact Us
Gene Bartow Award
Jack Bennett Award
Lefty Driesell Award
Hugh Durham Award
Clarence Gaines Award
Joe B. Hall Award
Lou Henson Award
Ben Jobe Award
Kyle Macy Award
John McLendon Award
Don Meyer Award
Lute Olson Award
Jim Phelan Award
Skip Prosser Award
Glenn Robinson Award
Riley Wallace Award
Kay Yow Award
All-Conference Honors
All-Decade Team
Mid-Major All-Decade Team
Copyright © 2015 CollegeInsider.com.
All rights reserved.