About the Award
Past Recipients
Award Committee
Contact Us


2019 Lute Olson Award

April 5, 2019


MINNEAPOLIS, MN -- Ja Morant of Murray State is the 2018-19 recipient of the Lute Olson Award, given annually to the nation’s top Division I player.

Morant had a sensational sophomore season at Murray, becoming the first player in NCAA history to average at least 20 points and 10 assists per game. He led the Racers to a 28-5 record, their second consecutive NCAA tournament appearance and a convincing first-round victory over Marquette, setting a tournament record with 16 assists.

In just two seasons at Murray, the 6-3 point guard scored more than 1,200 points and handed out more than 500 assists. He also played 197 of 200 minutes in the final five games of the season. For the season, Morant shot 50 percent from the field, 36 percent on 3-pointers and 81 percent on free throws.

The award is named in honor of Hall of Fame coach Lute Olson, who won 776 games in 34 seasons, 24 of which were spent at the University of Arizona. During that stretch he led the Wildcats to 11 Pac-10 Conference titles, 23 consecutive NCAA Tournaments, four Final Four appearances and a National Championship in 1997.

Olson is one of just 25 head coaches in NCAA history to win 700 or more games (all divisions) and ranks ninth on the Division I career victories list. He finished with a winning percentage of .731 and is the all-time winningest coach in Arizona history with 587-190 record (.755). He was named Pac-10 Coach of the Year seven times. Olson also guided Arizona to 20 consecutive 20-win seasons, and is one of only three coaches in NCAA history to record 29 or more 20-win seasons.


R.J. Barrett 6-8 Fr. Duke
Brandon Clarke 6-8 Jr. Gonzaga
Chris Clemons 5-9 Sr. Campbell
Jarrett Culver 6-6 So. Texas Tech
Jarron Cumberland 6-5 Jr. Cincinnati
Mike Daum 6-9 Sr. South Dakota State
Corey Davis 6-1 Sr. Houston
Carsen Edwards 6-1 Jr. Purdue
Kyle Guy 6-2 Jr. Virginia
Rai Hachimura 6-8 Jr. Gonzaga
Ethan Happ 6-9 Sr. Wisconsin
Markus Howard 5-11 Jr. Marquette
DeAndre Hunter 6-7 So. Virginia
Dedric Lawson 6-9 Jr. Kansas
Fletcher Magee 6-4 Sr. Wofford
C.J. Massinburg 6-3 Sr. Buffalo
Luke Maye 6-8 Sr. North Carolina
Ja Morant 6-2 So. Murray State
Marial Shayok 6-6 Sr. Iowa State
P.J. Washington 6-8 So. Kentucky
Coby White 6-5 Fr. North Carolina
Grant Williams 6-7 Jr. Tennessee
Zion Williamson 6-7 Fr. Duke
Cassius Winston 6-1 Jr. Michigan State
Justin Wright-Foreman 6-2 Sr. Hofstra



Contact Us
Gene Bartow Award
Jack Bennett Award
Lefty Driesell Award
Hugh Durham Award
Clarence Gaines Award
Joe B. Hall Award
Lou Henson Award
Ben Jobe Award
Kyle Macy Award
John McLendon Award
Don Meyer Award
Lute Olson Award
Jim Phelan Award
Skip Prosser Award
Glenn Robinson Award
Riley Wallace Award
Kay Yow Award
More Honors
All-Conference Honors
All-Decade Team
Mid-Major All Decade
Copyright © 2015 CollegeInsider.com.
All rights reserved.

Top 10 Individual College Basketball Seasons of the Decade

2019-20 College basketball preview: Preseason picks, ranking & Predictions

Top 8 Preseason Candidates for 2019